G’bye J.D. Salinger

J.D. Salinger, reclusive author of the seminal teen angst novels of the fifties and sixties, The Catcher in the Rye and Frannie and Zoey, has died. Withdrawing from the media craze after his characters and their dialogue embodied the voice of the times, I often forgot he was still around. It’s been so long since I read him in junior high that I had to look up the quotes. His writing was incomparable.

An artist’s only concern is to shoot for some kind of perfection, and on his own terms, not anyone else’s.  ~J.D. Salinger, Franny and Zooey

It’s funny.  All you have to do is say something nobody understands and they’ll do practically anything you want them to.  ~J.D. Salinger, The Catcher in the Rye, Chapter 21

You take a look around your college campus, and the world, and politics, and one season of summer stock, and you listen to the conversation of a bunch of nitwit college students, and you decide that everything’s ego, ego, ego, and the only intelligent thing for a girl to do is to lie around and shave her head and say the Jesus prayer and beg God for a little mystical experience that’ll maker her nice and happy.  ~J.D. Salinger, Franny and Zooey

RIP, J.D.


6 thoughts on “G’bye J.D. Salinger

  1. Thank you for celebrating the man and his novels, and not sparking a christian debate like some other wordpress blog i was on. JD is one of my inspirations, I remember first reading him in High School, and then I decided i was a writer and a poet, in fact I write a blog on wordpress too.

    http://www.oddballmagazine.wordpress.com

    anyway, thank you for honoring JD.

  2. Alessandro – He was an eccentric, for sure, but he detested the business of publishing. Sarah Weinman of Daily Finance writes:

    “In a 1974 New York Times profile, he told the paper in a phone conversation: ‘There is a marvelous peace in not publishing. Publishing is a terrible invasion of my privacy. I like to write. I love to write. But I write just for myself and my own pleasure.'”

    Reportedly, there are fifteen manuscripts locked in a vault. We’ll see if they will be published.

Leave a Reply

