We Will Get By—Lessons From Yertle the Turtle

Touch of Grey—Grateful Dead

Well, where have I been, fa God’s sake? You know what they say? When times get tough, the Jews get cleanin’ — at least those of us raised by borderline obsessive-compulsive moms. My New York pad had been suffering from nine months of neglect after blogging up a storm for our gal, Hillary. My cleaning strategy (or was it a tactic?) fell under the rubric of build it and they will come, for all you clients who might have unknowingly been demagnetized by the New York film of white dust that seems to settle on everything in my little flat, despite air purifier. And there’s something about wiping the slate clean during the Jewish New Year that compelled me to also clean the space around me. So am I next to godliness now? Hard to say, God only knows.

Like many of my Confluence sisters and brothers, I imagine I’ve been suffering from an influx of fluctuating moods and diminishing incomes, having dedicated so much to our PUMA cause. Yes, as has been told repeatedly, we’ve been putting out fires all year. Just when we thought we’d found each smoking gun of Obama’s dirty dealings and his trail of broken promises that would put his campaign out to pasture and reward Hillary with her rightful place of stellar leadership, we would be surprised by the MSM, Dem leadership, and general populace’s silence. So we’ve been running this relay race, and frankly, we’re tired. Our team members have carried the baton when any one of us could not. Some of us have felt beaten down by hitting our heads against the wall with cries of illegality and the smarmy tactics and associations of the Obama campaign. Frankly, I’ve cited so many instances that I’m numb, so if you want a reference, just look at almost any post on my blog or that of any one of my blogroll links.

So what kind of horse am I to stop before the race is over? I’m not really stopping, I’m just refueling, and that means refocusing and looking for work. Blogging, as I have found, is almost like having a job, it just doesn’t pay the cash. After all, to do it right, one must read other blogs, comments, stay up on the news, have an opinion, gather audio/visual accompaniment, cite supporting resources, links, and articles.

What blogging has gotten us is that our PUMA protest voice has made a huge difference in forcing the truth into the media, which has largely obfuscated its purpose as keepers of the Fourth Estate. In one example, after all of our yammering, finally the ACORN improprieties in voter registration are coming to light in thirteen states of the union. Most of us are lifelong Liberals who refused to give in to the philosophy of “by any means necessary.” Reference to those words by Malcolm X were woven in as code during the primaries against Hillary and now against McCain.

When Obama says in grandiose speeches that people are trying to “hoodwink and bamboozle you,” he’s speaking in code. And most knife-twisting of all, the chief hoodwinking bamboozler is calling the kettle black or white if you’re John Lewis. Those words by Malcolm X are part of the “by any means” philosophy, which gets to the heart of why we feel so angry and hurt by his campaign. We are fundamentally against this way of being in the world and see this MO permeate every level of Obama’s opportunistic campaign at each step of the way — from the trail of broken promises to his associations with shady characters, from ACORN to his Fannie and Freddie on-the-take, and how he stepped on the heads of those who helped him rise to power. We’re frustrated because when we or the McCain campaign point out these things, we/they are called haters and racists in the most vile, stringent terms. We are called haters by a campaign and its followers who have threatened, shouted us down, made it unsafe to wear normal campaign gear, carry or post signs, speak out. We are called names by a campaign that has used people within their governmental capacity to stifle free speech. Why?

Saddest of all is that we are like the wandering Jews. Welcome, people, to my world. We have no home. My thousands of friends, colleagues, and acquaintances, people I’ve known for my entire adult life, going on forty years, think that I’m a pariah. I don’t talk about my views with them, as I’m usually met with a barrage of hatred toward the candidates I believe in or am placing my hope in to counteract Nobama. So, basically, I don’t go there. I just write to get out the word. I write to you and for myself as an outlet, and because I cannot stay silent. You are my new community, my solace, my rock, my connection to the reality I see — the reality that so many of my counterparts don’t see. It’s as if the truth before their eyes is invisible.

Remember “Yertle the Turtle” by Dr. Seuss? Obama is like Yertle in his unbridled ego and hubris, fake seal, O-plane, fake Greek columns. His attitude is cloaked in the language of noblesse oblige, but instead of by birthright, he will use the power he has garnered to re-distribute the wealth to the less fortunate. And the people, the other lowly turtles in the land, afraid or deluded, they will obey:

My throne shall be higher!” his royal voice thundered,
“So pile up more turtles! I want ’bout two hundred!”
“Turtles! More turtles!” he bellowed and brayed.
And the turtles ‘way down in the pond were afraid.
They trembled. They shook. But they came. They obeyed.
From all over the pond, they came swimming by dozens.
Whole families of turtles, with uncles and cousins.
And all of them stepped on the head of poor Mack.
One after another, they climbed up the stack.
Then Yertle the Turtle was perched up so high,
He could see forty miles from his throne in the sky!

So, as we say, we don’t really have a horse in this race. Again, as in prior elections, we are forced to choose between the lesser of two evils. We are forced to turn a blind eye toward a Yertle who has stepped on the heads of the people. But WE are like Mack. When Yertle the Turtle could not bear to see the moon rise higher in the sky than he himself, he ordered more turtles onto the pile, but poor Mack, suffering under the burden of the millions who followed their king, he did the most simple, natural thing, and brought the tyrant down:

But, as Yertle, the Turtle King, lifted his hand
And started to order and give the command,
That plain little turtle below in the stack,
That plain little turtle whose name was just Mack,
Decided he’d taken enough. And he had.
And that plain little lad got a bit mad.
And that plain little Mack did a plain little thing.
He burped!
And his burp shook the throne of the king!

And Yertle the Turtle, the king of the trees,
The king of the air and the birds and the bees,
The king of a house and a cow and a mule…
Well, that was the end of the Turtle King’s rule!
For Yertle, the King of all Sala-ma-Sond,
Fell off his high throne and fell Plunk! in the pond!

So, all you wanderers who feel you have no home except for that of your fellow bloggers and protesters, YOU, WE will survive. We will continue to do what comes naturally, to put one foot in front of the other, and just burp.


22 thoughts on “We Will Get By—Lessons From Yertle the Turtle

  1. Oh I am glad I stumbled upon this post. I am feeling it so much.
    It’s all so f*cked up. My sister, who cried with me, lived thru the primary season with me, was enraged at all these things that were done to Hill. Who was so proud of and amazed by Hillary and her brilliance and character, now says she feels she has no choice but to vote BO on the top. She has never “not voted”.

    I am freaking floored by it. She can do what she wants, of course, but after all of this is over I am sure she will press me to see how I have voted. (still not sure if I will abstain or go mcccain).

    She is my best friend on earth and I hate that this is coming between us.

  2. Isn’t this all insane?

    “We have no home. My thousands of friends, colleagues, and acquaintances, people I’ve known for my entire adult life, going on forty years, think that I’m a pariah. I don’t talk about my views with them, as I’m usually met with a barrage of hatred toward the candidates I believe in or am placing my hope in to counteract Nobama. So, basically, I don’t go there. I just write to get out the word. I write to you and for myself as an outlet, and because I cannot stay silent. You are my new community, my solace, my rock, my connection to the reality I see — the reality that so many of my counterparts don’t see. It’s as if the truth before their eyes is invisible.”

    It gets very hard being a dissenting voice, especially if you know it will cost you in the workplace, at home, among friends, in your community of faith, in your neighborhood. It seems like we’ve lost so much. I’ve given thought to the backlash in my workplace, if anyone here found out about my political views or vote. I don’t think they would come up with an excuse to fire me, but they would absolutely make life awful enough that I’d want to quit. I ponder that sometimes and… prepare myself. I think being shut out of political discourse so completely takes its toll.

    This is where we are. I guess we take comfort from each other because it looks like there are a core of dissenters who simply will not accept the party line, abandon our beliefs, or give up. It’s almost as if we *can’t*, we’re incapable of saying the unacceptable is acceptable. Two plus two does not equal five, damn it. As you say, we don’t know how to be silent and we understand the costs of having no voice.

    In any case, I actually have no doubt that we will survive, regardless of outcome, though we may need a rest first, heh. Whatever happens on 11/4, there will be a lot of work to do and a great deal to discuss. Shoes and ships and sealing wax, cabbages and kings. Pigs have wings and are flying, because if BO does get installed, then a lot of strange bedfellows will have to try, try, try to create some aura of accountability. God knows there’s none whatsoever now in all the places there ought to be, in so many places that continue to pretend to be “progressive.” The good news is, I think more than a few folks have woken up — I know I have. I can’t do cognitive dissonance on such a grand scale, so I had to let go of certain assumptions.

    Anyway, from a Gen Xer who thinks that Baby Boomer women like you are her greatest generation, please regroup and refuel. There’s pleny of battle left, no matter what happens. We’ve lost so much, but we’ll build something new, I think.

    Thanks, from a fellow Dr. Seuss fan, for a chance and a little text box to write all this down.

  3. soupcity and alice — Well, you both made me cry, and that’s a good thing. You’ve touched my soul. The thing is, it’s so good to know that we’re not alone, isn’t it? The bad thing is that it’s so sad to be in this position, over what? And to feel so stifled, mocked, ridiculed, for some people to the point of libel and slander, or fear for their jobs or of being shunned BY those who have seemingly pledged to look out for everyone (Big Tent Dem philosophy) — that it smarts all the more.

    alice, thank you for your kind words, and for your gift of expression.

    soupcity, may you and your sis find peace. This is first time my mom and I have agreed on politics since she voted for Reagan after being a lifelong Dem. She thinks I’ve finally come to my senses (at 61 yrs old)! Before that, I just stayed away from the topic, as I did w/ my parents for most of my life, because it was always too volatile — only I was on the other side. I’m not a Repub, but refuse to submit to the lousy ways that “my Party” seems to have taken on in order to “not take it anymore” from the Party that’s outsmarted them for so long!

    I hope you’ll both continue to visit and weigh in. And that goes for all you other readers who have commented here. I may not have replied but I read all and appreciate your voices.

  4. Glad to have you back. My partner Amy and I LOVE NYC. Next time we come to NYC we’ll have to take you out to lunch. How about it?


  5. I had all but forgotten that Dr. Seuss book! It was one of my favorites, and still is.

    It’s wonderful to know I am not alone. Let’s burp together, shall we?

  6. Love your site. I too live in NYC and am a total pariah. I am all alone with my views of Obama. I don’t dare wear a Palin button, I don’t have the fortitude to put up with all of the abuse I’ll get. My friends drank the Kool-Aid, and think I agree with them. I don’t have the guts or the energy to debate with them on this topic. I think Obama would be a disaster as President, and much much worse than McCain, though Hillary of course was my girl. Thanks for your site. It is 1:30am, and this is the only place I can be honest. Even my husband as drank the Kool-Aid. We agree to disagree and to not speak politics. We’ve been together almost t twenty years. This is the first time we’ve disagreed so strongly that we can’t talk about it. This Obama cult is NUTS! I don’t understand it. I want to go to a Republican meeting next week at the Republic Place in NYC, I can’t remember what it’s called, but I have to work that night. I can’t believe I’m even considering stepping foot in that kind of institution, but that’s what Obama has reduced me to.

    Thanks for all of the hard work.


  7. Thanks for this wonderful post. I keep writing to you bloggers and commenters to thank you for sanity, for all you do.
    The Great Uniter has caused enormous division in our family of well-educated, smart women. I am appalled by thier foolishness, but try to stay out of their politics – like mine, their vote is thier own.
    BUT: I am convinced they’ll be horrified eventually, at what they’ve supported, with work and money. I really can’t be sure I’ll have any respect left for them. That’s a horrific thought. But, co si: it is what is.

  8. What a heart warming post with a sliver of light! Thank you. My grandchildren will be receiving a copy of ‘Yertal the Turtle’ as a lesson in government by the people.

  9. Take heart! Look to the Ty-D-Bol man for inspiration! I’m not kidding…did you know he was an ACTIVIST??????

    It’s time to put the gloves ON!!!

    This one is for Joe the Plumber…and the rest of us….



    The whole list of the crappy things the Democratic Party and their pick Obama should be dealt with immediately!!!

    (Includes pic and video)

  10. OK, I’m not a woman, at least when I see myself through the doctor prescribed glasses (should I go rimless?).

    Since I *used* to be a regular donor, I got a call yesterday from the local democrats office. They were soliciting money and any support they can get for democrats, but specifically for Tim Bishop, the congressional candidate here in Long Island. I was polite and told them that I had donatd directly to Bishop’s relection fund, so I cannot donate further to the local dnc. She then read the final line of the script: “There is too much at stake at this election. Would you consider a $5 donation for Obama for America.”

    I flipped. I told her that you can take Obama’s lack of experience, a bucnh of ACORNs, and his terrorist and shove it up Obama’s you-know-what. If I have an extra $5, it’ll go toward Hillary’s debt relief.

    I was so pleasantly surprised when she very calmly, but in a low voice, said, “I’m just reading from the script. I know how you feel and most of us feel left-out as well, please apologize.” I queited down and simply said, let’s not speak of that one again and ended the call. Now, I don’t want to read too much into her words–“most of us”, “left out”–but I’m hoping a lot of such people either vote for McCain or just sit this one out.

  11. Wonderful post and thank you for Yertle the Turtle!

    Like all of you I’m a Hillary Democrat. What a year. In some ways it’s been amazing. I’ve been to 3 Sarah Palin rallys the past 3 weeks and you just wouldn’t believe how cool it is getting to know Republicans. I will always remain a Democrat but it may be years before I feel good about the party. I tell all these Repubs who I am and they are so impressed I am there supporting their ticket. I’ve had wonderful conversations.

    (And yes, they do ask me–don’t I have any Dem friends I can bring over to their side? I tell them I am in deep hiding. If my Dem friends knew how strongly I support McCain/Palin the ramifications would be pretty bad! Perhaps terminating.)

    This morning Sarah returned to our area again (OH always in play.) It was a last-minutey addition to her very busy campaign schedule and to be quite honest, I was surprised she would return after having been here just one week ago. I swear it’s because she and her girls experienced Graeter’s ice cream and that she had to come back! Standing in line in the inky black pre-dawn darkness I met a woman and her young son. They have a little one with Down Syndrome and it was arranged that they would meet Sarah directly following her speech. Kim had a special bracelet to give to Sarah that represents Down Syndrome children. They did meet behind the stage and Sarah became emotional over the gift, exchanging hugs and signing her son’s homemade sign with a picture of his DS brother. Sarah added YES! with an arrow pointing to his photo. Kim said Sarah looked tired. Can we all imagine?? I find it incredible all she has on her shoulders. The care of a family, running her Alaska office long-distance, an incredibly busy campaign schedule and of course, heavy, heavy criticism coming from so many directions. Is it too sappy to say my heart aches for her? I wanted to scream above the crowd SARAH! Thank YOU for working so hard along the campaign trail! The crowd today was unexpectedly reserved. Sometime it’s like that here in Cincinnati. I am MUCH too old to be whistling with 2 fingers stuck in my mouth but that’s just what I did! Others quickly followed. But there were no breaks in her speech today with chants of SARAH! SARAH! SARAH! I hope she understood this crowd was listening to her–which in itself is a good thing.

    Following the rally I headed for home. I live fairly close to the Ohio River. On my way south I decided I would drive 2 more exits and check to see if Sarah flew in to Lunken Airport. Just as I pulled into a parking lot the caravan arrived. I did snap some pictures as I think it’s so cool she has a plane with her name on it! (I just love John McCain for selecting her. He really gets it.) An older couple pulled up beside me, also interested in watching Sarah’s plane take off. We waited and chatted for 2 hours. I finally said I was leaving. Sarah was inside one of the bldgs, no doubt meeting local pols and big donors, perhaps a few pressers as well. She had another rally scheduled for Indianapolis and I just assumed she’d hop on the plane after the rally here and head there. After waiting so long it became clear to me how she is kept busy every waking minute of her day. It made me admire her that much more. I truly believe she works this hard–a bring-it-on willingness–because she is so honored that John McCain selected her and she doesn’t want to let him down. It’s been too long a time since I’ve read it but if Obama is Yertle, wouldn’t you say Sarah is Thidwick the Moose? (I seem to recall he never refused anyone anything and his antlers grew heavier and heavier for the load he was carrying.) And if I’m right, the “moose” analogy is rather fitting!

    So much more I could tell but will leave it here. Again, I really enjoyed this post and all the thoughtful comments. We must keep working for what’s right and what’s fair. Our proxy candidates deserve no less and as for Hillary, we’ll be there for her when she needs us again.

    Cheers everyone!

  12. McCain is very moderate and I’m begging any undecideds to give him one more look! It’s your vote, so do what you will, but I’m happy to answer any questions or concerns you may have with voting for him. There’s a lot of myths floating around and I bet the truth might surprise you! Good luck!

  13. Welcome back, LadyBoomerNYC. Good post. Missed ya’! It dawned on me today that the Dems grand plan of the last 40 years has finally come to fruition in the candidacy of Barack Obama. (Mind you, I was a Dem until the Denver debacle that derailed Hillary.) Call me slow, but it occurred to me that 40 years of pushing group entitlements, cultural sensitivity, political correctness, social engineering if you will, has produced an affirmative action presidential candidate who does not deserve to be the Democratic nominee, who has not earned that right. It was simply given to him. The Democratic candidate that earned it (Hillary) was denied it through blatant sexism and downright corruption because she didn’t fit into their predetermined outcome. The nomination was stolen from Hillary Clinton, pure and simple. Is this not social engineering, indeed socialism, on display and at its worst when the deserving candidate is railroaded for the lesser qualified one?

    The Repubs, on the other hand, speak of personal responsibility and individual rights that harken back to our Constitution and the Bill of Rights: the right to life, liberty and the pursuit (not the guarantee) of liberty. That’s American idealism at its best, that you can work hard, play by the rules, and be rewarded for your efforts. (Isn’t that what Bill Clinton used to say?) That’s why people all over the world want to live here. That’s why millions love and cheer on Tiger Woods, Serita Williams, Will Smith, Colin Powell, Condi Rice and even Joe the Plumber. Our country was designed to give individuals freedoms to pursue their dreams. I say we’d better get out a dusty old copy of our Constitution and read it because it is about to be obliterated by the Dems’ societal experiment.

    Sorry if I’ve offended anyone. I’ve taken off my rose-colored glasses and like Mac in Yertle the Turtle and Mr. Tidy-Bowl (see Insightanatical’s post), I’m seeing things as they are, not as I wish them to be. As a former Democrat, I will not be guilted into voting for an unqualified and corrupt African American politician. I hope more Dems (our friends and family) will wake up and realize that their vote is too sacred to give away to someone so undeserving and so dangerous to the fundamentals of our democracy.

  14. i just came out of mccain…he truly grew on me….it’s no longer a NOBAMA vote, but rather a “I Like MAC” vote….

    took a while, but i’m happy to be here….he’ll reach out to hillary – and i believe he reward her with a cabinet position IF HE WINS!

    just a hunch….

    if anyone is able to work OH/PA/FL for McCain – please get in touch with me …


  15. I decided today that I will vote and for McCain. Dr. Seuss always got it right! He has a story for everything. As a long time lover of the Dead, I loved intro video. Long live the Dead. And we will get by. No matter what happens, we know what is behind the mask. Let others wonder what happened. We are not guilty and we are not bitter–and we have noticed that our conservative friends are much more tolerant of differences of opinion than our democratic friends. Maybe wisdom does come at 61. We will survive.

    Peace and love! McCain/Palin

  16. Interesting to read ms mississippi say she took off her rose colored glasses. (I’m a MS voter too, though I’m temporarily living abroad.) That’s the way I feel. I’ve been saying the exact same thing. I used to have faith in my party (Democratic activist from the time I was 5 years old and I’m 41). I knew it wasn’t perfect but had faith they would always do the right thing. B/c of this election (the primaries), I can no longer say that. I cannot say I’m a republican either but I’m totally open to becoming one. I think the Puma movement has a great opportunity most movements don’t have at such an early stage. We have the attention of the media, we have numbers. I don’t want this to just dissolve after the election. I think the republicans will lose this election and need to rethink some things. They need to reach out to new voters. White men are becoming the minority in just a few presidential elections. Time to face reality. They may reach out to us. I’ve been pushing this idea on puma blogs via comments. I think Sarah Palin has unleashed latent feminism in the Republican Party. If they woo us after this election, I say we demand a ProChoice platform and get Sarah to sell it to the right. Having Republicans and Democrats on board with prochoice is best for the issue. This will give Pumas a goal toward after this election. Let’s get a common goal and not let our numbers, media attention, and devotion to cause fizzle.

  17. Bless all of you! I did not follow the primaries, but I started to watch in disbelief the press coverage of the campaign as it narrowed to the final two candidates. As a long time Republican (who used to be a California Dem working on one of Hayden’s campaigns in the 80’s) I am horrified by the dirty, sleazy tactics that have been embraced by the general population.

    I mean, mudslinging is a given in politics, but the blatant disregard for all of the associations and the ‘citizenship’ issue? C’mon – when this came up with McCain and the birth in Panama – it was forced to the Supreme Court. As well it should be for ALL questionable citizenship issues, including BO. However, it appears that is hanging out in legal-limbo-land now. All I hope is that PUMA, and Hillary supporters everywhere will be the voice of reason and help to prevent one of the biggest national disasters from happening. I was disheartened, and then I got angry. I haven’t voted in a presidential election since 96, but I got out and stood in the cold rain for over an hour to early vote. Let’s not go without a fight.

    My thought is that BO campaign is nothing short of a Communist (Marxist) political machine, which was reinforced by hearing of this ‘national citizen’s police’ plan (among other ideas). Socialism is just the tip of the iceberg on this one. Hitler had a ‘national police’ also. This is SCARY – terrifying really, to know that so many people are buying into the propaganda. But that is what it is, and that is what the communists do – they promote their own propaganda; they wait for an opportunistic moment in society when people are weak and looking for something/anything to ‘fix’ what is going on. What happened to our society in that we thought that we cannot fix it ourselves?

    I come from a long line of military servicemen – I grew up with the respect and the love of this country. McCain shares this love of our great country and has fought for it. He may not be perfect, but at least he has the country’s best interests at heart, and not his own personal agenda. He fought for our freedom, as have so many others; including those that gave the ultimate sacrifice for their country – their lives. I never thought in my lifetime I would see the total and utter destruction of what took over 200 years to build. We have fought so hard for freedom, for so long, and now it is being snatched right out from under us, with full permission (by some). That is a slap in the face to those that fought so hard for all of us. God help us all.

Leave a Reply

